Life at our startup: Thoughts of an Angel

The main goal, as an investor is to find the right entrepreneur and professional who will be surrounded by like-minded individuals who are able to solve the most complicated formulas in the most effective ways. In my opinion, the entrepreneur has to possess certain characteristics, namely enthusiasm, but more importantly, they need to be driven by the idea of innovation.

20140511-133634.jpg

Some say the best way to find the first investor is the 3F model: Family, Friends and Fools. I guess I was all three for Vahe.

We were born and raised in the same neighborhood of a then-Soviet Union town. However, our lives took a different trajectory. I moved to Moscow when I was very young and started making money in the chaos of 90’s. Vahe, on the other hand, took his time to study and gain expertise in a specific field such as game development. His professional experience along with his engaging personality would eventually become pivotal in my decision.

It just so happened that Vahe and I met by chance last summer and started talking about business. He told me about his ideas and vision. Long story short, it took him 15 minutes to close in on me. Vahe is amiable and transfers positive energy, which is contagious, this is how he is able to create a team from scratch. I was also taken by his positivity and soon made the decision to fund his company with the purpose of creating the first wizard racing 3D mobile game. Through his positivity and his determination, our team went from strength to strength. We have come a long way from 2 to 16 members, representing 5 different nationalities.

Perhaps, there is one thing that makes me different from a typical angel investor. In the business world, angel investors try to stay out of day-to-day business and just give advice. I don’t believe in that. I believe that I am also part of the team. I also believe all angel investors should think this way. Aside from my personal businesses I try to dedicate as much time as possible to the “Pluxon” team. We work together, we watch sports together and occasionally we have a drink or two together.

If I had to give one piece of advice to young entrepreneurs, it would be to believe in their ideas and not doubt it for one second; believe in what you do and we, angel investors, will find you.

20140511-133731.jpg

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

